Boogie Beasts

Friday 8th of July 2016

 

Dirty beats, hypnotizing slide, screaming harmonica riffs and plenty of fuzz. all of these will be served by this four-man band from Liège and Limbourg, Belgium. In their greasy sound explosion, the founding members of the psychedelic band Voodoo Boogie and the insane garage duo The Goon Mat & Lord Benardo prove to be the perfect match.
Boogie Beasts translate their penchant for electric Delta blues into a most idiosyncratic sound, which has a touch of the Black Keys jamming with John Lee Hooker at a rave in the wee hours of the morning, or Morphine on a psychedelic trip with Little Walter, or even RL Burnside backed up by the young Rolling Stones at a juke joint-gig in Mississippi.
The drive is infectious, the noise is pure filth, yet highly irresistible … 

Are you ready to boogie with the Beasts?

BOOGIE BEASTS 2016 DEBUT ALBUM BIO
White hot punk boogie defines the debut album of this group from Belgium. Obviously it is the result of blending two parts pure coal from the depths of the Limburg pits (Jan Jaspers and Gert Servaes) with an equal amount of passion from Liège, “the ardent city” (Mathias Dalle and Fabian Bennardo). Coal and fire equals scorching heat. Beastly passion. Or passionate beastliness. Read: Boogie Beasts.
As the foursome are fond of the imperative mood, they have given their firstborn the catchy name “Come and Get Me”. It may sound as a command, or, judging by the soul-stirring lyrics, it is rather a man-faced desire: tragedy, melancholy, wild lust, timid advance, blunt rejection, all-consuming passion and profound pain of love, but also a ‘so what?’ state of mind, hope, doubt, healing self-criticism, self-mockery and quiet resignation. In short, “Come and Get Me” has turned a journey through unrequited love into sound. essential naked blues, under a coat with a bearded lining.
On top of this dark hinterland, Boogie Beasts have simply poured out their melting pot of ingenious crafted “in your face” songs, featuring desolate waste land (“Coming Home To You”), panoramic vistas (“Like A Fool”), relentless storms (“Calling My Name”) and sweltering road trips (“Dig”).
Pumping beats, hypnotizing boogie, slo-mo funk punk are all meat and drink to Boogie Beasts. Track 6 says : “Would You Please Shut Up”.
So let’s…

Boogie Beasts

Freitag, 8. Juli 2016

 

Obszöne Rhythmen, ein hypnotisierendes Slide, eine röhrende Mundharmonika, ein riesiges Chaos. Boogie Beasts… der Name ist Programm. Diese belgische Gruppe, bestehend aus zwei Limburger und zwei Lütticher, liefert einen fetten, explosiven Sound, der rauen Delta-Blues mit klebrigen Garage kombiniert. Diese Verschmelzung verschreibt sich komplett den zeitgenössischen Interpretationen des Blues, geöffnet von Jon Spencer oder auch vom Fat Possum-Label.

In ihrer Explosion aus schmutzigem Sound, erweisen sich die Gründungsmitglieder der psychedelischen Gruppe Voodoo Boogie und des durchgeknallten Garage-Duos The Goon Mat & Lord Benardo als Dream-Team.
Der Hang der Boogie Beasts für den elektrischen Delta-Blues wiedergibt einen sehr besonderen Sound.
Stellt Euch vor: Die Black Keys während einer Jamsession mit John Lee Hooker in den frühen Morgenstunden an einem illegalen Abend, oder die Morphine-Gruppe auf einem psychedelischen Trip mit Little Walter, oder auch RL Burnside begleitet von den jungen Rolling Stones im Hinterzimmer einer Spelunke in Mississippi.
Mit ansteckende Energie produzieren diese Herren einen dreckigen, einfach unwiderstehlichen Sound…

Are you ready to boogie with the Beasts?

BOOGIE BEASTS 2016 DEBUT ALBUM BIO

Einen zur Weissglut bringenden Boogiepunk; die perfekte Beschreibung des ersten Albums dieser Gruppe aus Belgien, geboren von der Fusion von zwei Kohlestücken aus dem Schoss von Limburg (Jan Jaspers und Gert Servaes) und der gleichen Quantität Passion aus Lüttich “der glühenden Stadt” (Mathias Dalle und Fabian Bennardo). Die Kohle und die Flamme für eine glühende Hitze. Eine bestialische Leidenschaft. Oder leidenschaftliche Bestialität. Anders gesagt: die Boogie Beasts.

Da das Quartett in der Befehlsform spricht, haben sie den bleibenden Titel “Come and Get Me” gewählt. Dies kann einen Befehl ausdrücken, oder aber, den an die Nieren gehenden Worten zu urteilen, handelt es sich mehr einem vielfältigen Wunsch: Tragödie, Melancholie, entfesselnder Wollust, schüchterne Avancen, brutale Ablehnung, verzehrende Leidenschaft und tiefe Liebesleiden, aber auch seelische Zustände: Hoffnung, Zweifel, beruhigende Selbstkritik, Selbstkritik und ruhige Resignation. Kurz gesagt,  hat “Come and Get Me” eine einmalige Liebesodyssee, einen Schwall von Dezibel erschaffen… Ein authentischen “naked” Blues…
Aus dem hintersten Tiefen ihres Hinterlandes haben die Boogie Beasts ihren raffinierten Liedergratin “in your face” gestürzt, wo entlegenes Ödland (“Coming Home To You”), Panoramablicke (“Like A Fool”), stürmisches Gewitter (“Calling My Name”) und erstickende Roadtrips (“Dig”) dargestellt werden.
Durchdringende Rhythmen, hypnotische Boogies und Slo-Mo Funk Punk, die Boogie Beasts lieben es. Das 6. Lied sagt: “Would You Please Shut Up”.

Also los! Halten wir den Mund…