Malted Milk & Toni Green

Thursday 7th of July 2016

 

MILK & GREEN

What can the soul singer Toni Green and the soul-blues group Malted Milk have in common ? The answer is simple : Milk & Green is one of the best kept secrets in today’s rhythm & blues scene. By uniting their strengths in recording what could become one of the most popular albums in the last ten years, you can bet on this double secret not remaining so for long.

 

As a grass-roots Memphis girl where she performed for a long time around the great Isaac Hayes, Toni Green had a very early start in the music industry : « My father was a musician and everybody used to come and practice at our house. The Bar-Kays, the Mad Lads, all the local musicians. » After having learnt her ‘do, ray, mi’s’ as a member of the Imported Moods, a torrid vocal group just like her town adores, Toni joined legendary producer Willie Mitchell’s team, alongside Al Green, Ann Peebles, Otis Clay and Syl Johnson. As Andrew Love of the Memphis Horns’ protégée, loyal to Marvell Thomas (Rufus’ son and Carla’s brother, two stars associated with the prestigious Stax label), she went on numerous tours with Luther Ingram and the Doobie Brothers before making a name for herself in the studios of New York. Very sought after backing vocalist thanks to her incredible harmony control, she had the pleasure of singing with Dennis Edwards, Betty Wright, Millie Jackson, Luther Vandross, the SOS Band, without forgetting the  group Con Funk Shun.

When she returned to Memphis in the mid 1990’s, Toni decided to take a large step forward and recorded several albums in her name, with the  benediction of Willie Mitchell ; due to the fact that, at this time, hip-hop wasn’t leaving much space for soul unfortunately her albums didn’t receive the success they deserved.

« All this will change », claimed Toni loud and clear, still surprised at having received, last year,  a visit from producer Sebastian Danchin, who had come to propose to her to record with Malted Milk. « There was a ring at my door, it was this guy from Europe. We talked, he explained to me that he had wanted to record me for fifteen years, but that the opportunity had never arisen. My first reaction was to ask him why he had waited so long », jokes Toni. « I was waiting to find a group who could play ‘in the pocket’ », confirms Danchin using the expression consecrated in Memphis to describe those who ‘have the feeling’. « I almost called  Toni a few years ago, while I was recording an album with Jean-Jacques Milteau in Willie Mitchell’s recording studio. But it would have been too frustrating to invite her to record just a couple of tracks. Until I came up with the idea of bringing Toni together with Malted Milk, Arnaud’s group. »

 

Arnaud Fradin, explosive guitar player and  devastating falsetto voice, has definitely the experience required to take on this project, as he has toured the soul-blues scene from Tennessee to Florida, from Paris to Amsterdam via London. At the time when the young Nueva Onda Records label gave the green light on the project, Malted Milk was imposing its meaning of funk like an incomparable war machine, according to Toni : « The first time I heard them, I couldn’t believe my ears. The drummer, Richard, is incredible,  I had never met anybody as regular as him since the time of Hi Records’ rhythmic section. A true metronome. Malted Milk’s brass is fantastic, Igor, the basse player, is incredibly creative in the recording studio, just like the keyboard player Tim, the latest arrival to the group, who I see a little like my son. »

 

After several months of intense preparation, Milk & Green met at the recoding studio in March 2014. The recording, made at the BoniSon studio in the countryside of Nantes, ran like a dream. On this supergroup’s agenda, a handful of covers borrowed from various well-known performer : Tommy Tate, one of the unrecognized geniuses of southern soul ; the diva R’n’B Mary J. Blige ; the soulman from Philadelphia Garnet Mimms ; without mentioning Syl Johnson and Ann Peebles, of which their glory remains associated with that of Hi Records. Arnaud Fradin, leader and singer of Malted Milk, explains : « We wanted to record a version of Ann Peebles’ ‘Slipped Tripped and Fell in Love’, precisely to celebrate the origins of our music. But it wasn’t possible to only perform covers, we wanted to put forward our specificity, and half of the album is made up of original compositions, written and arranged in the studio with Toni. »

The final result is a loyal reflection of 21st century soul music as Milk & Green wanted it to be presented. A bluesy and funky cocktail able to carry the message well over and above the retro frontiers, which are too often the normality in the soul scene. Judging by the enthusiastic reaction already felt by a bomb like ‘Just Call Me’ heard on the black radio networks in the USA, or even the triumphant welcome given to the group during the Jazz Victories in June, this album will leave no-one indifferent. As soon as this album came out in autumn, Milk & Green were invited to go on tour throughout Europe. Knowing that their concerts will multiply throughout 2015, lovers of contemporary soul will assist their torrid shows at their own risks.

Malted Milk & Toni Green

Donnerstag, 7. Juli 2016

 

MILK & GREEN

Was könnten die Soul-Sängerin Toni Green und die Soul-Blues-Gruppe Malted Milk gemeinsam haben? Ganz einfach: Milk & Green gehören zu den bestgehüteten Geheimnissen des gegenwärtigen Rhythm & Blues. Um ihre Kräfte für das Album, welches eines der Lichtblickalben des Jahrzehnts werden könnte, zu vereinen, kann man sich sicher sein, dass dieses doppelte Geheimnis keine Mühen scheut.

Ursprünglich aus Memphis, wo sie lange Zeit in ihrem Umfeld vom grossen Isaac Hayes gearbeitet hat, hat Toni Green frühzeitige musikalische Debüts erfahren: “Mein Vater war Musiker und die ganze Welt probte im Haus. Die Bar-Kays, die Mad Lads, alles was die Stadt als Musiker zählte.” Nach dem sie ihre Tonleiter in der Mitte von Imported Moods gelernt hat, ein heisses Vocal-Ensemble wie die Lieber zu ihrer Stadt, schliesst sich Toni dem Legende produzierenden Willie Mitchell an, an der Seite von Al Green, Ann Peebles, Otis Clay oder Syl Johnson. Beschützte von Andrew Love von den Memphis Horns, Anhängerin von Marvell (der Sohn von Rufus und Bruder von Carla, zwei assoziierte Stars von renommierten Stax-Label), hat sie ausgiebig mit Luther Ingram und den Doobie Brother getourt bevor sie sich einen Namen im new-yorker Studio gemacht hat. Als gefragte Sängerin, wegen ihrer harmonischen Stimmlage, kam sie mit Dennis Edwards, Betty Wright, Millie Jackson, Luther Vandross, der SOS Band oder der Con Funk Shun-Gruppe in Verbindung.

Bei ihrer Heimkehr nach Memphis Mitte der 1990er-Jahre, hat Toni entschieden, mit dem Segen von Willie Mitchell, mehrere Alben unter ihrem Namen aufzunehmen; ausser, dass abgesehen von der Hip-Hop-Vormacht dem Soul wenig Platz blieb und die Sängerin so nicht den verdienten Erfolg bekommen hat.

“Alles wird sich verändern”, beteuert Toni laut und deutlich, noch überrascht vom Besuch des Produzenten Sebastian Danchin, der mit dem Vorschlag kam mit Malted Milk aufzunehmen. “Man klingelt an meiner Tür, es war dieser Typ aus Europa. Wir haben diskutiert, er hat mir erklärt, dass er mich seit 15 Jahren aufnehmen will, aber die Gelegenheit war nie da. Meine erste Reaktion war, ihn zu fragen, warum er so lange gewartet hat”, scherzt Toni. “Ich wartete auf eine geeignete Gruppe, welche ‘in the pocket’ spielen konnte”, bestätigte Danchin, während er den in Memphis üblichen Ausdruck braucht, um diejenigen zu benennen, welche das Feeling haben. “Vor ein paar Jahren hätte ich fast Toni angerufen, als ich ein Album von Jean-Jacques Milteau im Studio von Willie Mitchell aufgenommen habe. Aber es wäre zu frustrierend gewesen sie nur für einen oder zwei Bereiche einzuladen. Bis mir die Idee kam, Toni mit Malted Milk, die Gruppe von Arnaud zu verbinden.”

Arnaud Fradin, ein explosiver Gitarrist und Sänger verheerenden Falsetts, hatte tatsächlich das erforderliche Rüstzeug für ein solches Projekt, dafür, dass er die Soul-Blues-Szene von Tennessee bis nach Florida, von Paris bis Amsterdam über London zum schäumen gebracht hat. In der Minute als das junge Label Nueva Onda Records sein OK dem Projekt gegeben hat, setzte sich Malted Milk ein wie eine Kampfmaschine, versehen mit einem unvergleichlichen Funk. Glauben wir Toni: “Das erste Mal als ich sie hörte, konnte ich es nicht fassen. Der Schlagzeuger, Richard, ist unglaublich. Ich habe niemanden mehr getroffen, der so regelmässig ist, seit der Rhythmus Epoche von Hi Records. Ein wahres Metronom. Die Blechbläser von Malted Milk sind fantastisch. Igor, der Bassist, ist unglaublich kreativ im Studio, genau wie der Klavierspieler Tim, der kleine letzte der Gruppe, welchen ich ein bisschen als meinen Sohn ansehe.”

Nach vielen Monaten intensiver Vorbereitung, fanden sich Milk & Green im März 2014 im Studio wieder. Die Aufzeichnung, realisiert in BoniSon-Studio auf dem nantesischen Land, verlief wie ein Traum. Im Programm dieser Supergruppe, eine Handvoll geleihte Cover von diversen markanten Persönlichkeiten: Tommy Tate, einer der berühmtesten Meister des sudistischen Souls; die R’n’B-Diva Mary J. Blige; der Soulman aus Philadephia Garnet Mimms; oder auch Syl Johnson und Ann Peebles, wo der Ruhm bei den Hi Records bleibt. Arnaud Fradin, Leader und Sänger bei Malted Milk, erklärt: “Wir wollten eine Version von Slipped Tripped and Fell in Love von Ann Peebles aufnehmen, um die Herkunft unserer Musik zu feiern. Aber es stand ausser Frage, dass wir uns mit einem Cover begnügen wollten, wir wollten unsere Besonderheit in den Vordergrund stellen, und die Hälfte des Repertoires des Albums ist zusammengestellt von originellen Kompositionen, geschrieben und arrangiert im Studio mit Toni.”

Das finale Resultat ist eine zuverlässige Widerspiegelung des Souls des 21. Jahrhunderts, so wie Milk & Green es wollten. Ein bluesiger und funkiger Cocktail, fähig das gute Wort weit über die Retrogrenzen zu bringen, welche zu oft die Norm des aktuellen Soulmarktes sind. Gemessen an den enthusiastischen Reaktionen, welche eine Bombe wie Just Call Me auf den schwarzen Radionetzwerken der USA auslösen, oder gesehen am Triumph der Gruppe, anlässlich der Gewinnerzeremonie des Jazz’ im Juni, lässt dieses meisterhafte Album keine Person teilnahmslos. Seit der Ankündigung im Herbst der Veröffentlichung dieses ereignisreichen Albums, wurde Milk & Green eingeladen durch Europa zu touren. Obwohl sie wissen, dass ihre Konzerte sich im Jahre 2015 vervielfachen, versäumen die Amateure des zeitgenössischen Souls, auf eigene Gefahr, keine der heissen Shows.