The JB’s Original James Brown Band feat. Martha High

Thursday 7th of July 2016 - Swiss exclusivity

 

The new set up of the original JB’s for the first time in Europe!

To celebrate the 10th anniversary of the passing of James Brown in 2006 and following the biography and documentary produced by Mick Jagger and broadcasted on Arte this year, twelve of his former musicians decided to get back together for the first time since his disappearance from this legendary group, The JB’s, to perform a series of exceptional concerts throughout Europe.

Nominated this year for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the group has invited, for the first time since 2006, two of its founder members, Fred Thomas and the impressive singer Martha High, James Brown’s number one chorist for 35 years of intense collaboration.

So here today, 10 years after he left, the refreshed echo of true James Brown music in a vibrant and joyful tribute performed by those who wrote history by his side. A unique opportunity to experience great moments like  Godfather of Soulhommagr which, during six decades, was one of the most influencial figures in the twentieth century’s  most popular music, classified by the magazine Rolling Stone in the Top Ten of the « 100 Greatest Artists of All Time ».

On the programme, the ever-popular « Sex Machine », « I Feel Good », « It’s a Man’s Man’s Man’s World », « Please, Please, Please » will be enjoyed by one of the most widespread fan-club on the entire planet!

In addition to this, the documentary produced by Mick Jagger will be projected, a public appearance with the members of the group after the concert, a workshop animated by all the musicians of the group will take place in the school of music or in the local music conservatory.

The lineup includes 11 musicians accompanied by the legendary entertainer Danny Ray. The year in which the musician joined James Brown’s band is mentioned in brackets.

Artists Instruments Alternative or
Danny Ray (1960) The Capeman/Emcee
Martha High (1966) Lead Vocal
Cynthia Moore (1984) Vocals
Tyrone Jefferson (1979) Trombone
Hollie Farris (1975) Trumpet
Joe Collier (1980) Trumpet
Jeff Watkins (1994) Saxophone Leroy « Funky » Harper (1996)
Keith Jenkins (1994) Guitar
Rob Watson (TBC) Guitar
Fred Thomas (1971) Basse
Tony Cook (1976) Drums Robert Thompson (1980)
George Spike Nealy (1990) Percussions

The JB’s Original James Brown Band feat. Martha High

Donnerstag 7. Juli 2016 - Exklusiv in der Schweiz

 

Neue originelle Zusammensetzung der JB’s zum ersten Mal in Europa!

Anlässlich des 10. Jahrestages des Verschwindens von James Brown 2006 und nach der Filmbiografie und des Dokumentarfilms, produziert von Mick Jagger und welche dieses Jahr auf Arte ausgestrahlt wurde, haben sich zwölf seiner ehemaligen Musiker entschieden, sich zum ersten Mal seit seinem Verschwinden wieder zu vereinen in seiner mythischen Gruppe, The JB’s, für eine Reihe von einmaligen Konzerten in Europa.

Dieses Jahr, nominiert am Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, integriert die Formation zum ersten Mal seit 2006 zwei der Gründungsmitglieder, Fred Thomas und die beeindruckende Sängerin Martha High, welche während den 35 Jahren intensiver Zusammenarbeit die Hauptbackgroundsängerin von James Brown war.

So wird hier und heute, 10 Jahre nach dem er uns verlassen hat, das Echo der wahren James Brown-Musik in einer vibrierenden und grossartigen Hommage, sogar für jene die mit ihm Geschichte geschrieben haben, wiederbelebt. Ein einmaliger Anlass die grossen Momente des Godfather of Soul wieder aufleben zu lassen. Während 6 Jahrzehnte, war er einer der einflussreichsten Persönlichkeiten der populären Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts, vom Rolling Stone-Magazin in den Top Ten der « 100 Greatest Artists of All Time » platziert.

Im Repertoire, die zeitlosen und glühenden « Sex Machine », « I Feel Good », « It’s a Man’s Man’s Man’s World », « Please, Please, Please » erfreuen eine der wichtigsten und unerschöpflichen Fangemeinden der Welt!

Optional: die Vorführung des von Mick Jagger produzierten Dokumentarfilms, eine Treffen des Publikums mit den Gruppenmitgliedern nach dem Konzert, ein animierter Workshop von allen Musikern der Formation im Rahmen der Musikschule und des lokalen Konservatoriums.

Die Aufstellung enthält 11 Musiker, welche vom mythischen Moderator/Entertainer Danny Ray begleitet wird. Das Jahr welche der Musiker die James Brown-Gruppe beigetreten ist steht in Klammern.

Künstler Instrumente Alternativ oder
Danny Ray (1960) The Capeman/Emcee
Martha High (1966) Lead Vocal
Cynthia Moore (1984) Vocals
Tyrone Jefferson (1979) Posaune
Hollie Farris (1975) Trompete
Joe Collier (1980) Trompete
Jeff Watkins (1994) Saxophon Leroy « Funky » Harper (1996)
Keith Jenkins (1994) Gitarre
Rob Watson (TBC) Gitarre
Fred Thomas (1971) Bass
Tony Cook (1976) Schlagzeug Robert Thompson (1980)
George Spike Nealy (1990) Perkussion