ANA POPOVIC

Saturday July 7

 

Born in Belgrade, ANA POPOVIC was initiated very early to blues by her father thanks to an impressive collection of records, as well as concerts in the family home.

She creates her first group at the age of 19. During a whole year, she plays outside of Yugoslavia, assuring the opening acts to concerts of blues stars such as Junior Wells. In 1998, her group gives over a hundred concerts and appears regularly on Yugoslavian TV. Her first CD Hometown illustrates her talents as a singer and guitar player.

In 1999, Ana Popović moves to the Netherlands to study jazz guitar. She quickly becomes a pillar to the Dutch blues scene and also travels throughout neighboring Germany. Her talent takes her to the USA where she meets several legends and with whom she shares the stage: BB King, Joe Bonamassa, Gary Clarke Jr.

She records several albums there and is awarded a few prestigious prizes and given the nickname of «Feminine Hendrix ». With her album « Trilogy » which she has just completed in Nashville, she opens her blues, to funk and to jazz, for an explosive cocktail.

Ana Popović is back for the Sierre Blues Festival’s tenth anniversary after having performed for us back in 2012.

ANA POPOVIC

Samedi 7 juillet

 

Née à Belgrade, ANA POPOVIC est initiée très tôt au blues par son père grâce à une collection impressionnante de disques, ainsi que par des concerts dans la maison familiale.

Elle crée son premier groupe à l’âge de 19 ans. Pendant un an, elle joue à l’extérieur de la Yougoslavie, faisant les premières parties des concerts de stars du blues comme « Junior Wells ». En 1998, son groupe donne une centaine de concerts et passe régulièrement à la télévision yougoslave. Son premier CD « Hometown » montre un aperçu de ses talents de chanteuse et de guitariste.

En 1999, Ana Popović déménage aux Pays-Bas pour étudier la guitare jazz. Elle devient rapidement un pilier de la scène du blues néerlandais et s’aventure également dans l’Allemagne voisine. Son talent s’exporte aux Etats Unis où elle rencontre des légendes avec qui elle partage la scène: BB King, Joe Bonamassa, Gary Clarke Jr.

Elle y enregistre plusieurs albums, y récolte quelques prix prestigieux et un surnom de «Hendrix féminin ». Avec son album « Trilogy » qu’elle vient de terminer à Nashville, elle ouvre son blues, au funk et au jazz, pour un cocktail explosif.

Ana Popović est de retour pour les 10 ans du Sierre Blues Festival après une première venue en 2012.