Boogie Beasts

Friday 8th of July 2016

 

Dirty beats, hypnotizing slide, screaming harmonica riffs and plenty of fuzz. all of these will be served by this four-man band from Liège and Limbourg, Belgium. In their greasy sound explosion, the founding members of the psychedelic band Voodoo Boogie and the insane garage duo The Goon Mat & Lord Benardo prove to be the perfect match.
Boogie Beasts translate their penchant for electric Delta blues into a most idiosyncratic sound, which has a touch of the Black Keys jamming with John Lee Hooker at a rave in the wee hours of the morning, or Morphine on a psychedelic trip with Little Walter, or even RL Burnside backed up by the young Rolling Stones at a juke joint-gig in Mississippi.
The drive is infectious, the noise is pure filth, yet highly irresistible … 

Are you ready to boogie with the Beasts?

BOOGIE BEASTS 2016 DEBUT ALBUM BIO
White hot punk boogie defines the debut album of this group from Belgium. Obviously it is the result of blending two parts pure coal from the depths of the Limburg pits (Jan Jaspers and Gert Servaes) with an equal amount of passion from Liège, “the ardent city” (Mathias Dalle and Fabian Bennardo). Coal and fire equals scorching heat. Beastly passion. Or passionate beastliness. Read: Boogie Beasts.
As the foursome are fond of the imperative mood, they have given their firstborn the catchy name “Come and Get Me”. It may sound as a command, or, judging by the soul-stirring lyrics, it is rather a man-faced desire: tragedy, melancholy, wild lust, timid advance, blunt rejection, all-consuming passion and profound pain of love, but also a ‘so what?’ state of mind, hope, doubt, healing self-criticism, self-mockery and quiet resignation. In short, “Come and Get Me” has turned a journey through unrequited love into sound. essential naked blues, under a coat with a bearded lining.
On top of this dark hinterland, Boogie Beasts have simply poured out their melting pot of ingenious crafted “in your face” songs, featuring desolate waste land (“Coming Home To You”), panoramic vistas (“Like A Fool”), relentless storms (“Calling My Name”) and sweltering road trips (“Dig”).
Pumping beats, hypnotizing boogie, slo-mo funk punk are all meat and drink to Boogie Beasts. Track 6 says : “Would You Please Shut Up”.
So let’s…

Boogie Beasts

Vendredi 8 juillet 2016

 

Des rythmes obscènes, un slide hypnotisant, un harmonica hurlant et un chaos de fuzz. Boogie Beasts… tout est dans le nom. Ce groupe belge composé de deux Limbourgeois et de deux Liégeois livre un son gras, explosif, mariant un delta blues rugueux à un garage bien poisseux. La formation s’inscrit pleinement dans les veines contemporaines de l’interprétation du blues, ouvertes par Jon Spencer ou encore le label Fat Possum.
Dans leur explosion de sons crasseux, les membres fondateurs du groupe psychédélique Voodoo Boogie et le duo de garage déjanté The Goon Mat & Lord Benardo se révèlent être l’équipe de rêve.
Le penchant des Boogie Beasts pour le Delta blues électrique se traduit en un son très particulier.
Imaginez-vous: les Black Keys lors d’une jam avec John Lee Hooker dans les petites heures du matin à une soirée illégale, ou le groupe Morphine dans un trip psychédélique avec Little Walter, ou encore RL Burnside accompagné par les jeunes Rolling Stones dans l’arrière salle d’un juke joint du Mississippi.
Avec une énergie contagieuse, ces messieurs produisent un son crade et simplement irrésistible… 

Are you ready to boogie with the Beasts?

BOOGIE BEASTS 2016 DEBUT ALBUM BIO
Un boogie punk chauffé à blanc, voilà comment caractériser le premier album de ce groupe venu de Belgique,  né de la fusion de deux morceaux de houille extraits des entrailles du Limbourg (Jan Jaspers et Gert Servaes) et d’une quantité égale de passion venue de Liège, “la cité ardente” (Mathias Dalle et Fabian Bennardo). Le charbon et la flamme pour une chaleur brûlante. Une passion bestiale. Ou une bestialité passionnelle. Autrement dit: les Boogie Beasts.
Comme le quatuor se conjugue au mode impératif, ils ont donné le titre accrocheur de “Come and Get Me”. Cela peut exprimer un ordre, ou bien, à en juger par les paroles à remuer les tripes, il s’agit plutôt d’un désir à multiples facettes : tragédie, mélancolie, luxure déchaînée, avances timides, rejet brutal, passion dévorante et de profondes souffrances d’amour, mais aussi un état d’esprit: espoir, doute, autocritique apaisante, autodérision et résignation tranquille. En bref, “Come and Get Me” a fait d’une odyssée d’amour à sens unique, un torrent de décibels… un “naked” blues authentique…
Du fin fond de leur sombre arrière-pays, les Boogie Beasts ont tout simplement versé leur gratin ingénieux de morceaux “in your face”, où figurent des terres désolées (“Coming Home To You”), vues panoramiques (“Like A Fool”), orages déchaînés (“Calling My Name”) et road trips étouffants (“Dig”).
Des rythmes percutants, des boogies hypnotiques, et du slo-mo funk punk, les Boogie Beasts en raffolent. Le morceau 6 dit : “Would You Please Shut Up”.
Alors fermons-la…