Malted Milk & Toni Green

Thursday 7th of July 2016

 

MILK & GREEN

What can the soul singer Toni Green and the soul-blues group Malted Milk have in common ? The answer is simple : Milk & Green is one of the best kept secrets in today’s rhythm & blues scene. By uniting their strengths in recording what could become one of the most popular albums in the last ten years, you can bet on this double secret not remaining so for long.

 

As a grass-roots Memphis girl where she performed for a long time around the great Isaac Hayes, Toni Green had a very early start in the music industry : « My father was a musician and everybody used to come and practice at our house. The Bar-Kays, the Mad Lads, all the local musicians. » After having learnt her ‘do, ray, mi’s’ as a member of the Imported Moods, a torrid vocal group just like her town adores, Toni joined legendary producer Willie Mitchell’s team, alongside Al Green, Ann Peebles, Otis Clay and Syl Johnson. As Andrew Love of the Memphis Horns’ protégée, loyal to Marvell Thomas (Rufus’ son and Carla’s brother, two stars associated with the prestigious Stax label), she went on numerous tours with Luther Ingram and the Doobie Brothers before making a name for herself in the studios of New York. Very sought after backing vocalist thanks to her incredible harmony control, she had the pleasure of singing with Dennis Edwards, Betty Wright, Millie Jackson, Luther Vandross, the SOS Band, without forgetting the  group Con Funk Shun.

When she returned to Memphis in the mid 1990’s, Toni decided to take a large step forward and recorded several albums in her name, with the  benediction of Willie Mitchell ; due to the fact that, at this time, hip-hop wasn’t leaving much space for soul unfortunately her albums didn’t receive the success they deserved.

« All this will change », claimed Toni loud and clear, still surprised at having received, last year,  a visit from producer Sebastian Danchin, who had come to propose to her to record with Malted Milk. « There was a ring at my door, it was this guy from Europe. We talked, he explained to me that he had wanted to record me for fifteen years, but that the opportunity had never arisen. My first reaction was to ask him why he had waited so long », jokes Toni. « I was waiting to find a group who could play ‘in the pocket’ », confirms Danchin using the expression consecrated in Memphis to describe those who ‘have the feeling’. « I almost called  Toni a few years ago, while I was recording an album with Jean-Jacques Milteau in Willie Mitchell’s recording studio. But it would have been too frustrating to invite her to record just a couple of tracks. Until I came up with the idea of bringing Toni together with Malted Milk, Arnaud’s group. »

 

Arnaud Fradin, explosive guitar player and  devastating falsetto voice, has definitely the experience required to take on this project, as he has toured the soul-blues scene from Tennessee to Florida, from Paris to Amsterdam via London. At the time when the young Nueva Onda Records label gave the green light on the project, Malted Milk was imposing its meaning of funk like an incomparable war machine, according to Toni : « The first time I heard them, I couldn’t believe my ears. The drummer, Richard, is incredible,  I had never met anybody as regular as him since the time of Hi Records’ rhythmic section. A true metronome. Malted Milk’s brass is fantastic, Igor, the basse player, is incredibly creative in the recording studio, just like the keyboard player Tim, the latest arrival to the group, who I see a little like my son. »

 

After several months of intense preparation, Milk & Green met at the recoding studio in March 2014. The recording, made at the BoniSon studio in the countryside of Nantes, ran like a dream. On this supergroup’s agenda, a handful of covers borrowed from various well-known performer : Tommy Tate, one of the unrecognized geniuses of southern soul ; the diva R’n’B Mary J. Blige ; the soulman from Philadelphia Garnet Mimms ; without mentioning Syl Johnson and Ann Peebles, of which their glory remains associated with that of Hi Records. Arnaud Fradin, leader and singer of Malted Milk, explains : « We wanted to record a version of Ann Peebles’ ‘Slipped Tripped and Fell in Love’, precisely to celebrate the origins of our music. But it wasn’t possible to only perform covers, we wanted to put forward our specificity, and half of the album is made up of original compositions, written and arranged in the studio with Toni. »

The final result is a loyal reflection of 21st century soul music as Milk & Green wanted it to be presented. A bluesy and funky cocktail able to carry the message well over and above the retro frontiers, which are too often the normality in the soul scene. Judging by the enthusiastic reaction already felt by a bomb like ‘Just Call Me’ heard on the black radio networks in the USA, or even the triumphant welcome given to the group during the Jazz Victories in June, this album will leave no-one indifferent. As soon as this album came out in autumn, Milk & Green were invited to go on tour throughout Europe. Knowing that their concerts will multiply throughout 2015, lovers of contemporary soul will assist their torrid shows at their own risks.

Malted Milk & Toni Green

Jeudi 7 juillet 2016

 

MILK & GREEN

Que peuvent avoir en commun la chanteuse soul Toni Green et le groupe de soul-blues Malted Milk ? La réponse est simple : Milk & Green font partie des secrets les mieux gardés du rhythm & blues actuel. Pour avoir uni leurs forces en enregistrant ce qui pourrait bien devenir l’un des albums phare de la décennie, il y a fort à parier que ce double secret ne tardera pas à s’ébruiter.

 

Originaire de Memphis où elle a longtemps œuvré dans l’entourage du grand Isaac Hayes, Toni Green a connu des débuts musicaux précoces : « Mon père était musicien et tout le monde venait répéter à la maison. Les Bar-Kays, les Mad Lads, tout ce que la ville comptait de musiciens. » Après avoir fait ses gammes au sein des Imported Moods, un ensemble vocal torride comme les aime sa ville, Toni rejoignait l’écurie du producteur de légende Willie Mitchell, aux côtés d’Al Green, Ann Peebles, Otis Clay ou Syl Johnson. Protégée d’Andrew Love des Memphis Horns, fidèle de Marvell Thomas (le fils de Rufus et frère de Carla, deux stars associées au prestigieux label Stax), elle a tourné abondamment avec Luther Ingram et les Doobie Brothers avant de se faire un nom dans l’univers des studios new-yorkais. Choriste recherchée pour sa maîtrise des harmonies vocales, elle a pu côtoyer Dennis Edwards, Betty Wright, Millie Jackson, Luther Vandross, le SOS Band, ou encore le groupe Con Funk Shun.

À son retour à Memphis au milieu des années 1990, Toni décidait de franchir le pas en enregistrant plusieurs albums sous son nom, avec la bénédiction de Willie Mitchell ; à ceci près que l’hégémonie du hip-hop laissait peu de place à la soul et que les recueils de la chanteuse n’ont pas connu tout le succès mérité.

« Tout ça va changer », clame haut et fort Toni, encore surprise d’avoir reçu l’an dernier la visite du producteur Sebastian Danchin, venu lui proposer d’enregistrer avec Malted Milk. « On sonne à ma porte, c’était ce type venu d’Europe. Nous avons discuté, il m’a expliqué qu’il voulait m’enregistrer depuis quinze ans, mais que l’occasion ne s’était jamais présentée. Ma première réaction a été de lui demander pourquoi il avait attendu si longtemps », plaisante Toni. « J’attendais de trouver un groupe capable de jouer ‘in the pocket’ », confirme Danchin en usant de l’expression consacrée à Memphis pour désigner ceux qui possèdent le feeling. « J’avais failli faire appel à Toni il y a quelques années, alors que j’enregistrais un album de Jean-Jacques Milteau dans le studio de Willie Mitchell. Mais il aurait été trop frustrant de l’inviter uniquement sur une plage ou deux. Jusqu’à ce que l’idée me vienne d’associer Toni à Malted Milk, le groupe d’Arnaud. »

 

Arnaud Fradin, guitariste explosif et chanteur au falsetto dévastateur, possédait effectivement le bagage requis pour un tel projet, pour avoir écumé la scène soul-blues depuis le Tennessee jusqu’en Floride, de Paris à Amsterdam en passant par Londres. À l’heure où le jeune label Nueva Onda Records donnait son feu vert au projet, Malted Milk s’imposait comme une machine de guerre dotée d’un sens du funk incomparable, à en croire Toni : « La première fois que je les ai entendus, je n’en revenais pas. Le batteur, Richard, est incroyable, je n’ai plus croisé quelqu’un d’aussi régulier depuis l’époque de la section rythmique de Hi Records. Un vrai métronome. Les cuivres de Malted Milk sont fantastique, Igor, le bassiste, est incroyablement créatif en studio, tout comme le clavier Tim, le petit dernier du groupe, que je considère un peu comme mon fils. »

 

Au terme de plusieurs mois de préparation intenses, Milk & Green se sont retrouvés en studio au mois de mars 2014. L’enregistrement, réalisé au studio BoniSon dans la campagne nantaise, s’est déroulé comme un rêve. Au programme de ce supergroupe, une poignée de reprises empruntées à diverses personnalités marquantes : Tommy Tate, l’un des maîtres les plus méconnus de la soul sudiste ; la diva R’n’B Mary J. Blige ; le soulman de Philadelphie Garnet Mimms ; ou encore Syl Johnson et Ann Peebles, dont la gloire reste associée à celle de Hi Records. Arnaud Fradin, leader et chanteur de Malted Milk, s’en explique : « On a voulu enregistrer une version de Slipped Tripped and Fell in Love d’Ann Peebles, précisément pour célébrer les origines de notre musique. Mais il n’était pas question de se contenter de reprises, on souhaitait mettre en avant notre spécificité, et la moitié du répertoire de l’album est constitué de compos originales, écrites et arrangées en studio avec Toni. »

Le résultat final est un reflet fidèle de la soul du 21e siècle telle que l’envisagent Milk & Green. Un cocktail bluesy et funky capable de porter la bonne parole bien au-delà des frontières rétro qui constituent trop souvent la norme sur le marché actuel de la soul. À en juger par les réactions enthousiastes que suscite déjà une bombe comme Just Call Me sur le réseau des radios blacks au États-Unis, ou encore à la vue du triomphe réservé au groupe lors de la cérémonie des Victoires du Jazz en juin, cet album magistral ne laissera personne indifférent. Dès l’annonce de la sortie à l’automne de ce disque événement, Milk & Green étaient invités à partir en tournée à travers l’Europe. Sachant que leurs concerts se multiplieront tout au long de l’année 2015, les amateurs de soul contemporain négligeront d’assister à leurs shows torrides à leurs risques et périls.