POPA CHUBBY

Thursday July 5

 

Undisputed leader of the New York City Blues scene, Theodore Joseph Horowitz, known as POPA CHUBBY , born on the 31st of March 1960 in New York, demolishes all preconceptions over the blues and its images of the Mississippi. He comes from New York, he’s white, and he looks more like a rapper or a Californian gang member, as he dusts away the « cotton plantation » type blues. Armed with his 66 Stratocaster, he proposes a musical reflection of his city: urban, powerful, with a mixture of the cosmopolitan influences of the « big apple ».

In his blues rock, he adds a touch of soul, jazz, rock or rap. The result is a boosted blues which will clear your eardrums. In producing a cover album called « Flashed back », Popa Chubby has just given the solution to all who, until now, were looking to know his musical influences.

As a child, he was rocked by the sixties, by Hendrix and Otis Redding, by the Animals or Nancy Sinatra, the artists who passed through his parents’ juke-box, who ran their business in the Bronx. After several albums of which « Brooklyn basement blues », « One million broken guitars », « Popa Chubby presents New York city blues » or « How a white boy get the blues », Popa Chubby gains recognition as the leader of a punchy rock blues.

Out-of-the-ordinary character and extraordinary guitar player, he is committed and leaves nobody indifferent. He performed for us at the first edition of the Sierre Blues Festival, he’s back once again to celebrate our tenth anniversary and introduce us to his latest album « Two Dogs ».

POPA CHUBBY

JEUDI 5 juillet

 

Leader incontesté du New York City Blues, Theodore Joseph Horowitz, dit POPA CHUBBY , né le 31 mars 1960 à New York, bat en brèche les a-priori sur le blues et ses images du Mississipi. Il vient de New York, il est blanc, a plutôt un look de rappeur ou de membre de gang californien, et donne un sacré coup de balai dans le blues façon «plantation de coton». Armé de sa Stratocaster de 66, il propose une musique à l’image de sa ville : urbaine, puissante, qui mêle les influences cosmopolites de « big apple ».

 

Dans son blues rock, il ajoute des touches soul, jazz, rock ou rap. Il en ressort un blues dopé qui nettoie les tympans. En réalisant un album de reprises intitulé « Flashed back », Popa Chubby vient de donner la solution à tous ceux qui cherchaient à connaître ses influences musicales.

 

Gamin, il a été bercé par la musique des sixties, par Hendrix et Otis Redding, par les Animals ou Nancy Sinatra, des artistes qui passaient dans le juke-box de ses parents, commerçants dans le Bronx. Après plusieurs albums dont «Brooklyn basement blues», «One million broken guitars», «Popa Chubby present New York city blues» ou «How a white boy get the blues», Popa Chubby accède à la notoriété et s’impose en leader d’un blues rock pêchu.

 

Personnage et guitariste hors normes, c’est un artiste engagé qui ne laisse personne indifférent. Il était présent à la première édition du Sierre Blues Festival, le voici de retour pour fêter les 10 ans et nous présenter son dernier opus «Two Dogs».