SUGARAY RAYFORD

Saturday July 7

 

New generation bluesman, SUGARAY RAYFORD is a first-class blues entertainer with a soulful gravel voice influenced by his gospel childhood. His extraordinarily powerful voice communicates an energy that can be felt throughout the audience. When Sugaray sings, you don’t only hear him, you feel him. The excitement in the room is palpable.

Originally from Texas, Caron Sugaray Rayford was brought up by his grandmother after his mother past away. At 12 years old, he goes to California. With his group Aunt Kizzy’z Boys, be becomes an idol in Los Angeles. His first album « Blind Alley », for which Al Kooper (Bob Dylan, Rolling Stones…) writes two songs, is unanimously saluted by the media in 2010. Success is definitely written on the cards when titles performed by Sugaray start appearing in TV series like «True Blood».

In 2012, between two European tours, Sugaray joins the famous troupe playing «Ain’t Nothing but the Blues» – a classic American Music-Hall show. A few months earlier, he had to refuse the part of Howlin’ Wolf for a show on Broadway, to be able to take his first steps in Europe. His second opus, “Dangerous”, is released in 2013 and confirms his status of Blues & Soul legend.

With “Southside”, the new album available since May 2015, Sugaray has returned to his initial style: a subtle mixture of Blues and Soul Stax Records style.

Nominated in 4 categories at the 39th Blues Music Awards, (best male contemporary artist, best entertainer, best blues album, best voice) Sugaray Rayford has answered present to Sierre Blues Festival 2018’s invitation.

SUGARAY RAYFORD

Samedi 7 juillet

 

Nouvelle génération de bluesmen, SUGARAY RAYFORD est un artiste de blues de premier ordre avec une âme profonde, aiguisée à l’église. Impressionnant par sa puissance vocale hors du commun il propage une énergie palpable dans tout le public car quand Sugaray chante, non seulement tu l’entends, tu le sens. L’excitation est palpable dans le public.

Originaire du Texas, Caron Sugaray Rayford est élevé par sa grand-mère après le décès de sa mère. A l’âge de 12 ans, il part pour la Californie. Avec son groupe Aunt Kizzy’z Boys, il devient la coqueluche des stars de Los Angeles. Son premier album « Blind Alley », pour lequel Al Kooper (Bob Dylan, Rolling Stones…) lui écrit deux titres, est unanimement salué par la presse en 2010. Le succès est définitivement au rendez-vous lorsque les titres de Sugaray commencent à apparaître dans des séries TV comme «True Blood».

En 2012, entre deux tournées européennes, Sugaray rejoint la troupe du célèbre spectacle «Ain’t Nothing but the Blues» – un classique du Music-Hall américain. Quelques mois plus tôt, il avait déjà dû refuser le rôle de Howlin’ Wolf pour un show à Broadway, afin de pouvoir faire ses premiers pas en Europe. Son second opus, “Dangerous”, sort en 2013 et assoit définitivement son statut de Légende du Blues & Soul.

Avec “Southside”, le nouvel album disponible depuis mai 2015, Sugaray opère un retour à son style de prédilection: un subtil mélange de Blues et de Soul façon Stax Records.

Nominé dans 4 catégories aux 39ème Blues Music Awards, (meilleur artiste masculin contemporain, meilleur entertainer, meilleur album de blues, meilleure voix) Sugaray Rayford a répondu présent à l’invitation du Sierre Blues Festival 2018.